Lesson 52: RCCG Sunday School Manual 29th August 2021 – Fourth Quarterly Review

Lesson 52: RCCG Sunday School Manual 29th August 2021 - Fourth Quarterly Review

Lesson 52: RCCG Sunday School Manual 29th August 2021 – Fourth Quarterly Review

RCCG SUNDAY SCHOOL MANUAL
SUNDAY 29TH OF AUGUST, 2021
LESSON FORTY-THREE (52)
TOPIC: FOURTH QUARTERLY REVIEW (SUMMARY OF LESSONS 40-51)

SUNDAY SCHOOL HYMN
1. O Sunday School, on the Lord’s day,
O how I love Thee well,
I am happy, it makes me glad
To rejoice at Thy birth.

2. O Sunday School, on the Lord’s day,
Thy friendship suits me well,
Both young and old will sing Thy song,
We long for Sunday School.

3. O Sunday School, on the Lord’s day,
Christ was Thy first teacher,
The Holy Spirit, great teacher,
Does manifest in thee.

4. O Sunday School, on the Lord’s day,
This testimony is sure,
That God, the Father Almighty,
Poured His blessing on Thee

5. O Sunday School, on the Lord’s day,
Though the sun be so bright,
Or if the clouds be black with rain,
I’ll be in Sunday School.

6. O Sunday School, on the Lord’s day,
I rejoice to see Thee,
Will thou pass over me today?
Without my being blest?

RCCG Sunday School Manual 29th August 2021 – Fourth Quarterly Review

*SUMMARY OF LESSONS 40-51*
*LESSON FORTY (40)*
*TOPIC: THE PREACHING OF THE GOSPEL*
*BIBLE PASSAGE: Mark 16:15-20*

MEMORY VERSE: For though I preach the gospel, I have nothing to glory of: for necessity is laid upon me; yea, woe is unto me, if I preach not the gospel” 1 Cor. 9:16.

LESSON INTRODUCTION: Shortly after the baptism and wilderness experiences of Jesus Christ, His earthly ministry started with the preaching of the gospel and ended with the commissioning of the disciples for the same
assignment (Mk 1:9-14; Matt 28:18-20). Without doubt, this must have been an issue topmost in the heart of the Lord Jesus Christ for all generations.

LESSON OUTLINES
LESSON OUTLINE 1: A MUST FOR ALL BELIEVERS
A. NECESSITY OF THE GOSPEL:

Teacher should explain the following points to the students.
i. The Lord commanded all believers to preach the gospel. Matt. 28:18-20.
ii. The gospel is the power and wisdom of God. 1 Cor. 1:24.
iii. Failure to preach the gospel attracts a curse. 1 Cor. 9:16.
iv. Preaching of the gospel is a mandatory duty to all believers. 2 Tim. 4:2; Acts 18:26.
V. The gospel is the avenue through which all human race/souls can be saved. 2Pet. 3:9, 1 Tim. 2:4.
vi. Through the gospel, sinners/weary and perishing souls can repent and obtain everlasting life. Matt. 11:28, Isaiah 61:1-3, John 3:36.
vii. The Lord is the central message of the gospel. Matt. 11:28.
viii. The Lord Jesus Christ is the one who pleads our cause with God the Father. 1 John 2:1-2.
ix. The blood of the Lord Jesus cleanses us from all sins. 1 John 1:7.
X. Believers in the Lord Jesus Christ must, therefore, preach the gospel and win souls to the kingdom of God. 1 Cor. 9:16, Rom 1:16.

RCCG Sunday School Manual 29 August 2021 – Fourth Quarterly Review

B. REQUIREMENTS FOR THE ASSIGNMENT:
Teacher should explain the following requirements for the preachers of the gospel (i.e. to preach effectively).
i. Divine wisdom. James 1:5-8; Acts 17:15-34.
ii. Compassionate heart. Matt. 9:36; Matt. 23:37.
ii. The power of the Holy Spirit. Acts 1:18, 4:31; 16:16-18.

CLASS ACTIVITY 1: Why is the preaching of the gospel compulsory for all believers?

LESSON OUTLINE 2: THE MESSAGE IS SIMPLE
i. Jesus is the moral which was from the beginning. John 1:1,14.
ii. All souls belong to God. Ezekiel 18:4.
ii. All souls have sinned. Rom. 3:23.
iv. Every soul that confess and repent from their sins will obtain mercy. Prov. 28:13; 1 John 1:8-10.
v. Those who confessed and repented from their sins will obtain the gift of eternal life. Rom. 6:23.
vi. The blood of Jesus Christ alone is the means by which the sins of the whole world can be washed away. Heb. 9:14.

CLASS ACTIVITY 2: Mention the content of the message of the gospel.

SUMMARY: The message of the gospel brings salvation to the whole world.

CONCLUSION: If the Lord Jesus Christ saw the preaching of the gospel as unavoidable, then, believers therefore have no excuse. He has promised that we will do greater works (John 14:12) and that He will be with us always
(Matt. 28:20). Pray and obey now.

*LESSON FORTY ONE(41)*
*TOPIC: THE CHRISTIAN MISSIONARY*
*BIBLE PASSAGE: Matthew 28:19-20*

MEMORY VERSE: “And he said unto them, Go ye into all the world, and preach the gospel to every creature”. Mark 16:15.

LESSON INTRODUCTION: The business of missions includes the Almighty God, the Lord Jesus Christ, the Holy Spirit and the Church. Mission is a must and all real Christians should be interested.

LESSON OUTLINES
LESSON OUTLINE 1: CHRISTIAN MISSIONS AND HOME SUPPORT
• Question: Who is a Christian missionary?
• Answer: The believer who is sent across geo-political and cultural boundaries to proclaim the gospel of the Lord Jesus Christ.

• Question: Who sent them?
• Answer: The established Church of Christ from a geographical location.

• Question: Whose responsibility is it to take care of the missionaries?
• Answer: The members of the home church who send the missionaries abroad.

• Question: Why is it the responsibility of the home church to care for the missionaries?
• Answer: It is because the Scripture says that believers (home or abroad) are co-labourers. Therefore, if one believer suffers, others must share in the pain. 1 Cor. 12:25-26; 1 Cor. 3:8-9.

• Question: What types of support can Christians at the home church give the missionaries?
• Answers:
i. Prayer support.
ii. Provision of physical and materials necessities.

• Question: Why are these supports necessary?
• Answer:
i. To enable the missionaries to concentrate on their primary assignment. Matthew 6:20-21.
ii. To avoid distraction.

CLASS ACTIVITY 1: Mention any ten countries where The Redeemed Christian Church of God has missionaries.

LESSON OUTLINE 2: YOU CAN BE PERSONALLY INVOLVED
• Question: What did the woman of Shunem and her husband do to support Elisha who was a missionary in their country?
• Answers:
i. They provided a furnished apartment for him. 2 Kings 4:9-11.
ii. They provided food (bread) for him. 2 Kings 4:8.

• Question: What did the brethren from the Macedonia do to support the Apostle Paul on his missionary journey according to 2 Cor. 11:9?
• Answer: They supplied the need of Apostle Paul. 2 Cor. 11:9

• Question: What did the Philippians do to support Apostle Paul’ missionary activities in Thessalonica, according to Philippians 4:16-18?
• Answer: They sent provisions to meet his necessities.

• Question: Would you say that the couple, Aquila and Priscilla, were relevant to Apostle Paul’s missionary activities? If yes, how according to Romans 16:3-4.
• Answer: Yes.
i They gave so much to support Paul and those who were with him in the journey
ii. They risked their lives for the missionaries (Living Bible Translation).

• Question: Can we do the missionary work by proxy?
• Answer: Yes. As much as we send our support regularly, we are part of the missionary work.

CLASS ACTIVITY 2: Students should mention at least one location or place or country where they would like to take the missionary work to and state the reason for their choice.

SUMMARY: Christian missionaries must be supported directly or by proxy

CONCLUSION: God is still calling today. Whoever is willing should respond. You can decide to begin to support a missionary, at least.

*LESSON FORTY TWO(42)*
*TOPIC: BEWARE OF DOGS*
*BIBLE PASSAGE: 2 Peter 2:9-22*

MEMORY VERSE: “Beware of dogs, beware of evil workers beware of the concision”. Phil. 3:2.

LESSON INTRODUCTION: The word ‘beware’ is ‘to be careful of or to be mindful of a thing, a person or a circumstance. The scripture warns us to beware of dogs, evil workers and of the concision (fleshly circumcision upon which the Judaizers insisted as being necessary for gentile converts). Dogs are naturally domesticated as pets or for security purposes. However, dogs are also dangerous animals; they can bite, destroy and even kill. In the New Testament times, dogs were regarded as scavengers (Matt.15:26-27). In the context of Philippians 3:2 the word ‘dog’ is used figuratively to represent some classes of
people. Who are these ‘dogs’ and why should believers beware of ‘dogs’.

LESSON OUTLINES:
LESSON OUTLINE 1: DESCRIPTION OF DOGS
•Question: Teacher should allow students to use the following scriptures to answer the question, “Who are the dogs?”
•Answers:
i. Philippians 3:1-3. They are evil workers.
ii. 2 Cor. 11:13. The deceitful people.
iiii. 2 Cor. 4:1-2. The unfaithful.
iv. Acts 13:8-11. The subverters of faith and the gospel.
v. Isaiah 56:10-11. Greedy, lazy, selfish and self-centered leaders.
vi. Galatia 5:15. Violent people.

•Question: How did Jesus Christ describe the dogs, according to the following scriptures?

Teacher should allow some other students to answer the question according to the scripture below:
•Answers:
i. Matthew 7:6. The ungrateful, careless and carefree people.
ii. 2 Peter 2:22. The unrepentant people and people that revert to their old sinful lives.
iii. Hebrew 10:38. The backsliders.

•Question: How old Deuteronomy 23:18 describe the dogs?

Teacher should allow some students to respond to the question.
•Answer:
i. The whore, harlot, woman who engages in sexual intercourse for money
ii. The abominable people/thing. Deut. 23:18 i.e disgusting, detestable, evil things, such things that God forbids. E.g homosexuality, lesbianism,
etc 1 Cor. 6:9.

CLASS ACTIVITY 1: How should a believer treat or relate with the d dogs?

LESSON OUTLINE 2: DANGERS POSED BY DOGS AND THE WAY OUT
•Question: What dangers do dogs pose to the believers?
•Answers:
i. Dogs destroy and weaken faith. 2 Tim.4:3-4.
ii. Dogs deceive and confuse believers. 2 Tim. 3:6.
iii. They confront and resist truth. 2 Tim. 3:8.
iv. They weaken and pollute minds of believers. 2 Tim. 3:7-8,
v. They cause weak believers to stumble. 1 Cor. 8:9-12.
vi. They defile the church with false doctrines. 2 Tim.3:7-8,13
vii. They are devil incarnate. 2 Cor. 11:13-14.
B,1

•Question: What should believe do to avoid the snares of the dogs?
•Answers:
I. Do not participate or take pleasures in the acts of the dogs. Rom. 1:32.
ii. Study the word of God regularly to prevent false doctrines. 1 Tim. 4:13; Eph. 4:14.
iii. Be watchful and prayerful. 1 Pet. 5:8; Matt. 26:41.
iv. Be holy. Rom. 12:1-2.
V. Be Spirit filled. Gal. 5:16.

CLASS ACTIVITY 2: Why should dogs be avoided?

SUMMARY: Believers should heed the Scripture’s warning about the dogs.

CONCLUSION: Anyone who goes to his sins after forsaking them is regarded as dogs, be watchful!

*LESSON FORTY-THREE (43)*
*TOPIC : SEL-CLEANSING*
*BIBLE PASSAGE*: Hebrews 10:19-23
*MEMORY VERSE*: “Having therefore these promises, dearly beloved, let us cleanse ourselves from all filthiness of the flesh and spirit, perfecting holiness in the fear of God”. 2 Corinthians 7:1

INTRODUCTION: God’s desire is that His people will be clean outwardly and inwardly (Zechariah 3:4). He loved those whose hearts and lives are perfect towards Him and has made adequate provision for their all-round cleansing (Hebrews 10:22). In Psalms 51:7, David prayed for God’s cleansing. We also have a crucial role to play in this matter.

LESSON OUTLINES
1. SELF-CLEANSING AND ITS BENEFITS
2. HOW CAN A MAN CLEANSE HIMSELF?

SELF-CLEANSING AND ITS BENEFITS
• Question: What is self cleansing?
• Answer: Self cleansing is a conscious and decisive effort put in by man to purge himself of all filthiness (2 Corinthians 1:7)

• Questions: What does the word of God says on the cleansing exercise?
• Answer:
i. The word of God reveals our true persons to us. Romans 12:2.
ii. The word of God renews our minds. Romans 12:2

• Question: (Isaiah 1:16) gave some instructions on self-cleansing. What are these instructions?
• Answer:
i. Wash yourself.
ii. Cleanse yourself.
iii. Put away evil.
iv. Cease from doing evil.

• Question: What instructions did (Jeremiah 4:14) give on self-cleansing?
• Answer:
Wash your heart from Wickedness and evil/vain thoughts

• Question: Apostle Paul directed believers to keep their physical bodies from two works of the flesh. What are they?
• Answer:
i. Sin
ii. Lust

• Question: What did the following Bible passages say about the benefits of self cleansing? 2Timothy 2:21, 1John 3:3, Hebrews 10:22; Hebrews 4:6?
• Answer:
i. 2 Timothy 2:21. The person becomes sanctified and become useful to God
ii. 1John 3:3. It assure the the believers of eternal life and the saviour, Jesus Christ.
iii. Hebrews 10:22. Self cleansing gives believers confidence to come to God’s presence in faith.

CLASS ACTIVITY 1: Can a dirty person approach the throne of grace? If yes, how? If no, why not?

HOW CAN A MAN CLEANSE HIMSELF?
NOTE: the teacher uses the students responses under class activity one as bases to treat the lesson outline 2.

• Question:
How can a person cleanse himself to be acceptable to God?
• Answer:
i. Ask the lord Jesus Christ to cleanse you of impurities of sins through the blood of Jesus Christ. (Hebrews 9:14,22).
ii. Allow he word of God to transform the areas of you lives which are not pleasing to God. Strictly abide by the principles of the word of God. Psalms 119:9, Ephesians 5:26; Ezekiel 36:25.
iii. After confessing your sins, never go back to them again (Hebrews 12:1).
iv. Avoid anything that is evil (1Thessalonians 5:22).
v. Avoid the deeds of the flesh or ungodly attitudes and behaviours. Never embrace yourself whatever God disapproves. (Romans 8:13; Colossians 3:5)
vi. Draw close to God in studying of God’s words, prayer, worship, fellowship, etc(James 4:8).

CLASS ACTIVITY 2: How can a person stay cleansed?

SUMMARY: God is clean always. Therefore, believers must be cleansed.

CONCLUSION: God is looking for a clean and pure vessels. You can be available for His use by cleansing yourself.

*LESSON FORTY-FOUR (44)*
*TOPIC: SWEET SLEEP*
*BIBLE PASSAGE: Proverbs 3:21-24*
*SUNDAY SCHOOL HYMN*
1. O Sunday School, on the Lord’s day,
O how I love Thee well,
I am happy, it makes me glad
To rejoice at Thy birth.

2. O Sunday School, on the Lord’s day,
Thy friendship suits me well,
Both young and old will sing Thy song,
We long for Sunday School.

3. O Sunday School, on the Lord’s day,
Christ was Thy first teacher,
The Holy Spirit, great teacher,
Does manifest in thee.

4. O Sunday School, on the Lord’s day,
This testimony is sure,
That God, the Father Almighty,
Poured His blessing on Thee

5. O Sunday School, on the Lord’s day,
Though the sun be so bright,
Or if the clouds be black with rain,
I’ll be in Sunday School.

6. O Sunday School, on the Lord’s day,
I rejoice to see Thee,
Will thou pass over me today?
Without my being blest?

OPENING PRAYER
Father, give me sweet sleep whenever I want to do so, according to Your word.

MEMORY VERSE: “The sleep of a labouring man is sweet, whether he eat little or much: but the abundance of the rich will not suffer him to sleep”. Ecclesiastes 5:12

INTRODUCTION: Sleep is a state of natural muscle relaxation and periodic suspension of consciousness (reduced interactions with surroundings). Like everything else God has made, sleep is good but can also be greatly abused. Can we sleep too much, too little, and how important is sleep?

  • Lesson 52: RCCG Sunday School Manual 29th August 2021 – Fourth Quarterly Review

LESSON OUTLINES
LESSON OUTLINE 1. WHAT DOES THE BIBLE SAY ABOUT SLEEP?
Points to discuss:
i. Good sleep is the result of faith and trust in God (Psalm 4:8; 127:2).
ii. Sweet sleep is a reward for good labour (Ecclesiastes 5:12; Proverbs 3:24).
iii. Good and rightful sleep is a gift from God (Proverbs 3:24; Psalm 4:8)
iv. God communicates with man through sleep (1Kings 3:5).
v. God forbids love for sleep (Proverbs 20:13)
vi. Too much is wrong (Proverbs 6:9-11)
vii. sleeping at the wrong time is bad ( Ecclesiastes 3:1; Matthew 26:40-46)
viii. Failure to sleep is inappropriate (Ecclesiastes 8:16; Psalm 127:1-2).

Teacher should distribute the above stated eight points to eight students and ask them to explain, give insight or share experiences on them. The remaining students can add to the explanations while the teacher makes necessary corrections.

LESSON OUTLINE 2. WHY IS SLEEP IMPORTANT?
Points to discuss:
i. Sleep indicates that we are creatures and not the Creators.
ii. Sleep allows our physical bodies to replenish for proper functioning.
iii. Good sleep makes us healthy and improves immune system.
iv. The Lord Jesus demonstrated the need to sleep by sleeping (Luke 8:23; Mark 1:35).
v. It improves productivity and concentration.
vi. God reveals Himself through dreams and visions (Matthew 2:13,19; 1Kings 3:5).

Teacher should allow the students to make contributions to any of the above stated points. The contributions could arise out of knowledge acquired (e.g. medical person), experience or story.

NOTE: The lesson outline are highly participatory. Therefore, they do not require separate class activities.

SUMMARY: Good and rightful sleep is good for the body, soul and spirit.

CONCLUSION: Sleeping at the right time and in the right proportion is good for the health of every believer.

*LESSON FORTY FIVE (45)*
*TOPIC: SLEEP HEALTH*
*BIBLE PASSAGE: Proverbs 6:9-11*

MEMORY VERSE: “And there sat in a window a certain young man named Eutychus, being fallen into a deep sleep: and as Paul was long preaching, he sunk down with sleep, and fell down from the third loft, and was taken up dead”. Acts 20:9

LESSON INTRODUCTION: Sleep health is a phenomenon that captures the nature of sleep in humans, the associated disorders and remedies. In this context, it is important to have the knowledge of how much or how well we sleep
and deal with any lifestyle habits that run contrary to proper sleeping habits. We shall therefore consider the stages and spectrum of sleep as well as some sleep disorders in this study.

LESSON OUTLINES
LESSON OUTLINE 1: STAGES AND SPECTRUM OF SLEEP
A. Teacher should identify the following stages of sleep.
i. Slumbering or dozing. Matt. 25:1-5.
i. Sleep. Prov. 3:24.
ii. Deep sleep. Gen. 2:21-23; Job. 4:13.
iv. Sleep of death or coma. Psalms 13:3; Jer. 51:57.
v. Death. John 11:11-14.

Teacher should allow the students to use their experience (personal, heard or seen) to differentiate among the above-stated stages of sleep.

B. Teacher should enumerate the sleep, spectrum or duration or length of sleep
as follows:
i. No sleep. Daniel 6:18.
ii. Moderate sleep. Eccl. 5:12.
ii. Excess sleep. Acts 20:9.

ACTIVITY: Teacher should allow students to discuSs how the following factors could determine/influence the sleep spectrum i.e. the amount of sleep required or sleep scale.
i. Age (infant, youth, adult, aged).
ii. Lifestyle or habit. Prov. 19:15.
ii. Love for sleep. Prov. 20:13.

LESSON OUTLINE 2: SLEEP DISORDERS
C. Teacher should identity some sleep disorders as enumerated below:
i. Insomnia- Lack of sleep.
ii. Hypersomnia- Excessive sleep or oversleeping.
ii. Sleep apnoea-Temporary cessation of sleep.
iv. Sleep paralysis-Your mind is conscious but you are unable to move your body in the process of waking up.
v. Somnambulism-Sleep-walking.
vi. Somniloquism-Sleep-talking.

Teacher should allow students to discuss how each of the disorders so, could affect the patients. For instance:
i. Insomnia could lead to emotional difficulties, risk of stroke/heart diseases, poor job performances etc.
i. Hypersomnia-poor quality of job.
ii. Sleep apnoea/paralysis-health issues.
iv. Sleep-walking-danger of walking into danger
V. Sleep-talking-incoherent utterances, etc.

NOTE: There is no need for class activities again because the two outlines are full of activities. Therefore, those who participated should score full marks for class activities.

SUMMARY: Moderate sleep without disorders is good enough for sound health.

CONCLUSION: Like in every other area of life, sleep should also be in moderation.

*LESSON FORTY-SIX (46)*
*TOPIC: SPIRITUAL AWAKENING*
*BIBLE PASSAGE: 1 Thessalonians 5:1-8*

MEMORY VERSE: “Therefore let us not sleep, as do others; but let us watch and be sober”. — 1Thessalonians 5:6

INTRODUCTION: Spiritually, sleep could either be caused naturally (Proverbs 3:24) or supernaturally (Genesis 2:21). Sleep is also used as a figurative expression of death (John 11:11-13), spiritual weakness or lukewarmness (Ephesians 5:14). Spiritual sleep is considered dangerous for any believers. This calls for spiritual awakening, i.e. waking up from spiritual sleep.

LESSON OUTLINES
LESSON OUTLINE 1: SIGNS AND DANGERS OF SPIRITUAL SLEEP
The following are the signs of spiritual sleep.
i. Increased interest in the pursuit of worldly things and materials wealth (1John 2:15; Ecclesiastes 5:10)
ii. Manifesting works of the flesh (Galatians 5:19-21);
iii. Loss of appetite for spiritual food (The word of God) (Colossians 3:15-16);
iv. No longer impacted by the word of God (Isaiah 6:9-10; Jeremiah 15-16);
v. Loss of interest in prayer (Romans 11:7-8);
vi. Loss of hearing from God
vii. Loss of thirsty for righteousness (Matthew 5:6).
viii. Feeling of knowing it all (master of knowledge). (Proverbs 18:2; Galatians 6:3);
ix. Pursuit of fame or self-glory (Jeremiah 45:5);
x. Unmindful of consequence of action or proximity of danger (Judges 16:16-25; Jonah 1:3-5);
xi. Lack of commitment in relationship with spiritually-minded Christians (Hebrews 10:25).
xii. Loss of discernment of spiritual matters (1 Corinthians 2:11-14; Proverbs 29:18).
xiii. Loss of spiritual sight (Genesis 13:14-18; Jeremiah 17:5-6).
xiv. Exposure to spiritual attack (1 Kings 19:1-8; Matthew 13:24-30)
xv. Sudden destruction (Acts 20:9-12; Judges 4:17-21).
xvi. Spiritual weakness (Judges 16:20)
xvii. Experiencing disappointment (2 Timothy 4:10).
xviii. Missing divine appointment (Matthew 25:1-12).

CLASS ACTIVITY 1: Mention signs or danger of spiritual sleep.

LESSON OUTLINE 2: REMEDIES FOR SPIRITUAL SLEEP
A. REMEDIES:
i. spiritual awakening- waking up out of all forms of spiritual sleep, slumbering, weakness or death (Romans 13:11).
ii. Regular preparation for the second coming of the Lord Jesus Christ, which is fast approaching ( Matthew 24:42-44).
iii. Maintaining our position as “light” and avoiding the world of”darkness” (1Thessalonians 5:5).
iv. Conscious effort to wake up and be alive (Ephesians 5:14)
v. Being filled with the knowledge of God and living a life of righteousness (1Corinthians 15:34)

B. REASONS WHY SLEEPERS MUST WAKE UP
i. To emit light and chase away darkness (Ephesians 5:14).
ii. To be free from the snares of the devil (2Timothy 2:26).
iii. To win more souls to the kingdom of God (Luke 10:2).
iv. To raise a defence against the wars and attack of the enemy, the devil (Matthew 13:25; 1Peter 5:8).

C. CHECKLIST FOR SPIRITUAL AWAKENING
i. Heed the warning to awake to righteousness and be dead to sin. 1Corinthians 15:34
ii. Ask yourself these questions:
a. Am I asleep or awake? (2Corinthians 13:5; Luke 21:34).
b. Am I watching? (Luke 21:36; Matthew 26:41).
c. Am I praying? (Luke 21:36; Matthew 26:41).

RCCG Sunday School Manual 29th August 2021 – Fourth Quarterly Review

SUMMARY: Awake now if you are sleeping.

CONCLUSION: Learn to walk in the power of the Holy Spirit in order not to sleep spiritually. If you are already sleeping, wake up.

*LESSON FORTY-SEVEN (47)*
*TOPIC: RETALIATION*
*BIBLE PASSAGE: Romans 12:17-21*

MEMORY VERSE: “Thou shalt not avenge, nor bear any grudge against the children of thy people, but thou shalt love thy neighbour as thyself: I [am] the LORD”. Leviticus 19:18

LESSON INTRODUCTION: Retaliation is a violent response to an act of harm or perceived injustice. To retaliate is to do something harmful or negative, to get revenge for some harm; to fight back or respond in kind to an injury or affront. Both the Hebrew and Greek words translated “vengeance”, revenge, and avenge” have the idea of punishment in their root meaning. The question of non-retaliation or non-violence is often discussed in relation
to Matthew 5:38-44.

LESSON OUTLINES
LESSON OUTLINE 1: WHAT DOES THE BIBLE SAY ABOUT RETALIATION?
i. Believers should not retaliate or revenge. Rom. 12:9.
ii. Believers should not pay back evil for evil. Rom 12:17.
iii. Believers should feed the enemy and give drinks to them in anticipation for divine rewards. Rom. 12:20; Prov. 25:21-22.
iv. Believers should not join the offenders in committing the same error. Rom. 12:21, Matt. 5:39.
V. Believers should allow God to judge. Heb. 10:30.

CLASS ACTIVITY 1: i. Teacher should ask the students to explain why some people revenge (by themselves).
ii. Why do nations of the world retaliate by imposing sanctions?

LESSON OUTLINE 2: THE PROPER CHRISTIAN ACTION
i. Believers should love their enemies. Matt. 5:38-44.
ii. Believers should allow God to judge their enemies. Rom. 12:19.
iii. Believers should resist impulse to retaliate and live in peace. Rom.12:18.
v. Believers should forgive. Luke 6:27-31.
v. Believers should allow God to defend them. Psalms 20:1.
vi. Believers could set healthy boundaries/limit in case of destructive relationships. 2 Cor. 6:17; Prov. 22:24; Ezra 10:11.
vii. Believers should please God in all their ways. Prov. 16:7.

CLASS ACTIVITY 2: Find out at least seven (7) instructions given to believers in Matt. 5:38-44 as right attitude to revenge.

SUMMARY: Do not revenge.

CONCLUSION: The scripture enjoins us to live peaceably with all men as much as possible. Rom. 12:18.

*LESSON FORTY-EIGHT (48)*
*TOPIC: PERILOUS TIMES*
*BIBLE PASSAGE: 2 Timothy 3:1-5*

MEMORY VERSE: “This know also, that in the last days perilous times shall come”. 2 Tim. 3:1.

LESSON INTRODUCTION: The translated word for “perilous” in 2 Timothy 3:1 is ‘chalepos’, which means troublesome, dangerous, harsh, fierce, full of risk, hazardous, harmful, dreadful, threatening. The term, “last days, refers to the period between
second coming. “Perilous times” constitute part of the last days. “The last days is not just a prophecy, it started from the days of the Bible (Heb.1:2;
1 John.2:18-19). The importance of the prophecy and warning against the perilous times cannot be over emphasised because we are living in the fulfilment of the perilous times. The purpose of this study is to carefully consider the writing of Paul to Timothy in 2 Timothy 3:1-5 on the things that characterise the ‘Perilous Times’ and the position every believer in Christ should take.

LESSON OUTLINES
LESSON OUTLINE 1: THE CHARACTERISTICS OF PERILOUS TIMES
i. Men/women would only love themselves (and not God). 2 Tim. 3:2.
2. People will be self-centered. Phil. 2:21.
iii. Covetous, full of lust and materialistic people. Luke 12:15; 2 Pet. 2:3.
iv.Boasters and people who express vain glory. Psalms 10:3.
v. Proud people who value themselves more than other people. Prov. 21:4.
vi. Blasphemers who speak immoral things about God and holy things. Mark
3:29.
vii. Disobedient to parents (biological and spiritual). Eph. 6:1-2.
viii. Unthankful and ungrateful people. Rom. 1:21.
ix. Men and women who are not holy. Jude 1:18.
x. People who lack family affection and who do not show tender love. 2 Tim.3:3; Rom. 1:31.
xi. People who betray trust and the friendship relationship. Rom. 1:31; 2 Tim. 3:4; Acts 7:52.
xii. Those who accuse fellow human beings wrongly or falsely. Prov. 10:18.
xiii. People who lack self control or who are unrestrained. 2 Pet. 2:14.
xiv. People who are unfriendly, wild, violent, aggressive. Psalms 1l:5.
xv. People who are liars, who speak/do evil against true believers.
xvi. Stubborn, heady, arrogant and reckless. Prov. 21:29a.
xvii. People who are full of themselves (high-minded). 1 Tim. 3:6.
xviii. Lovers of pleasure/immoral people. Phil. 3:19.
xix. Religious but Godless people. 2 Tim. 3:5; Matt 23:27.

*NOTE: (Class Activity 1)*
After the teacher has identified the above-stated nineteen characteristics of people during the perilous times, teacher should allow students to comment on the points using true-life experience or story of the identified behaviours in their respective environment(s).

  • Lesson 52: RCCG Sunday School Manual 29th August 2021 – Fourth Quarterly Review

LESSON OUTLINE 2: CAUTION FOR BELIEVERS
The scripture gives the following cautions to believers to guide against being ensnared by the perilous times.
i. Turn away from ungodly people and practice. 2 Tim 3:5.
ii. Do not fellowship with people who have demonstrated the above-stated nineteen points and others. 2 Cor. 6:14-17.
iii. Avoid all forms of carnality and false doctrines. Rom. 8:6-7, Eph. 4:14.
iv. Believers should be watchful and prayerful against temptations and deceptions. Matt. 26:4; 2 Cor. 2:11.
v. Believers should be filled with the Holy Spirit and obey His leading at all times. James 14:7; Rom. 8:14.

CLASS ACTIVITY 2: Identify any other steps which believers should take to avoid being trapped by the perilous times.

SUMMARY: Perilous times are here. Believers should be well guided.

CONCLUSION: Every believer that wants to get to Heaven must heed the warning, careful to live a separate life from the world and false brethren in order to please God.

*LESSON FORTY NINE(49)*
*TOPIC: THERE IS NO PURGATORY*
*BIBLE PASSAGE: 2 Corinthians 5:6-8*

MEMORY VERSE: “And as it is appointed unto men once to die, but after this the judgement”. Hebrews 9:27.

LESSON INTRODUCTION: Some church denominations believe that all who die in God’s grace and friendship but still imperfectly purified are indeed assured of their eternal salvation but will undergo the process of purification which they call purgatory, so as to achieve the holiness necessary to enter the joy of. According to them, Purgatory is also a place or condition of temporal punishment for those who, departing this life in God’s grace, are not entirely free from forgivable faults, or have not fully paid the price due to their transgressions. Is this doctrine of Purgatory in agreement with the Bible? Absolutely not!

LESSON OUTLINES:
LESSON OUTLINE 1: WHAT DOES THE BIBLE SAY ABOUT PURGATORY?
The biblical passages wrongly referred to as basis for purgatory are:
i. *1 Cor.3:15; 1 Pet. 1:7*. These scriptures clearly speak about the work that shall stand the test of fire and be rewarded and those that shall not be able to stand
ii. *1Cor.3:11-15*. This scripture supports believers in Christ who make it to Heaven and would be rewarded according to the value of their works.
ii. The Bible mentioned in *Heb. 9:27* that after death comes the judgement. Therefore, the ‘purifying fire” is referred to as the judgement seat of Christ where work will be judged. *2 Cor. 5:10*
iv. The “fire” in this context is symbolic of motive or objectives behind every work of the believers.
v. The sinners will go straight to hell. *Psalms 9:17*. The wicked shall be turned to hell. That is the destination of sinners who refused to repent alive
vi. In the expression, “it shall not be forgiven him neither in this world, neither in the world to come”, the expression “in the world to come”, means among
Jew that, “it will never be done”
vii. God’s wrath shall overtake sinners who refuse to genuinely repent their sins before death. *Psalms 9:17; Matt. 13:49-50*

CLASS ACTIVITY 1: Why do you think that anyone would wish to repent after death?

LESSON OUTLINE 2: DEBUNKING THE WRONG CONCEPT
i. Purgatory like many other heretic belief is based on misunderstanding of the nature of Christ’ sacrifice and of the scripture.
ii. Jesus’ sacrifice for sinners is a once and for all sacrifice. The sacrifice was perfect and absolute. *Heb. 7:27*.
iii. Those who believe in purgatory fail to believe that the work of salvation needs no additional contribution to what Christ has done. *Eph. 2:8-9*.
iv. They fail to understand that there is no need for other cleansing in addition to the one Christ has done with His blood. *1 John 1:7-9*.
v. They fail to believe that praying for the dead for the forgiveness of their sins is baseless because Jesus by His death, has paid the penalty for all our sins. *John 1:1,14*.
vi. Jesus died for our sins and paid the price once and for all. *1 Cor. 15:3*.
vii. Jesus atoned for our sins, therefore, there is no need for any purgatory again. *1 John 2:2; Rom. 5:8; Isaiah 53:5*.
viii. The belief that man would not suffer for his sin after death has no basis in the Bible. It is also contrary to the true biblical teaching on salvation.

CLASS ACTIVITY 2: identify any other wrong teaching which are contradictory to the Bible.

SUMMARY: There is no purgatory for cleansing of sins after death.

CONCLUSION: There is no basis for purgatory in the Bible. Therefore, make your ways right before you die.

*LESSON FIFTY (50)*
*TOPIC: END TIME PROPHECIES*
*BIBLE PASSAGE: Isaiah 13:6-22*.

MEMORY VERSE: “But the day of the Lord will come as a thief in the night; in the which the heavens shall pass away with a great noise, and the elements shall melt with fervent heat, the earth also and the works that are therein shall be burned up”. 2 Peter 3:10

INTRODUCTION: The event usually referred to as “the end of the world” (eschaton) is described in *2Peter 3:10* This is the culmination of a series of events called “the day of the Lord,” The Bible has a lot to say about the end times. Nearly every book of the Bible contains prophecy regarding the end times. Taking all of these prophecies and organizing them can be difficult. Following is a very brief summary of what the Bible declares will happen in the end times.

LESSON OUTLINES
LESSON OUTLINE 1: FROM RAPTURE TO THE GREAT TRIBULATION
i. “rapture” is the removal of all born-again believers from the earth (1 Thessalonians 4:13-18; 1 Corinthians 15:51-54).
ii. After the rapture, the born again believers will receive rewards for the good and faithful services which were rendered to Christ during their stay on earth (1Corinthians 3:11-15; 2Corinthians 5:10).
iii. True believers will not lose eternal life for not rendering service as required but they will lose their rewards. 1Cor. 3:13-15.
iv. The next event is the manifestation of the antichrist when he will sign a agreement with Israel for seven years, which is known as “the tribulation”. (Daniel 9:27).
v. During the tribulation, there will be terrible wars, famines, plagues and natural disasters. (Daniel 9:27).
vi. Half way of the seven years, the antichrist will break the peace covenant with Israel and make war against it with overspreading abomination which will make it desolate. Daniel 9:27
vii. The antichrist will set up an image of himself in the temple in Jerusalem and cause people to worship the image (Daniel 9:27); 2Thessalonian 2:3-10).
viii. The second half of the seven year shall be period of “the great tribulation” which as not been seen since the beginning of the world. It is also referred to as the time of “Jacob’s trouble” (Matthew 24:21; Revelation 7:14; Jeremiah 30:7).

LESSON OUTLINE 2: THE MILLENNIAL REIGN TO THE END
i. After the seven-year tribulation, the Antichrist will launch a final attack on Jerusalem, through “the battle of Armageddon” (Revelation 16:16;19:19-20).
ii. The Lord Jesus Christ will return and destroy all those who rejected Him, the antichrist and his false prophets will be cast into the lake of fire (Revelation 19:11-21).
iii. The Lord Jesus Christ will bind Satan in “the Abyss – bottomless pit” for 1000 years. Then Christ will rule His earthly kingdom for 1000 years. (Revelation 20:1-6)
iv. After the 1000 years of bondage of satan, he will be loosed again and he will deceive many and he will be cast into the lake of fire forever. (Revelation 20:7-9) .
v. Thereafter, Christ will judge the unbelievers on the great white throne judgement. All those who appear before the great white throne judgement will go to the lake of fire. (Revelation 20:10-15).
vi. Death and hell will also be cast into the lake of fire which is the second death. (Revelation 20:14).
vii. The Lord Jesus Christ will usher a new heaven and New earth, the new Jerusalem, the eternal dwelling place of believers. There will be no more sin, sorrow, or death. (Revelation 21-22)

CLASS ACTIVITY 1-2: Mention in order, series of event that would lead to the end of this world.

SUMMARY: The end is near.

CONCLUSION: The knowledge of this end time events is for believers to be well prepared.

*LESSON FIFTY-ONE (51)*
*TOPIC: THE NEW HEAVEN AND THE NEW EARTH*
*BIBLE PASSAGE: Revelation 21:1-5*

MEMORY VERSE: “But the day of the Lord will come as a thief in the night; in the which the heavens shall pass away with a great noise, and the elements shall melt with fervent heat, the earth also and the works that are therein shall be burned up”. 2 Peter 3:10

INTRODUCTION: In Noah’s day, the world was destroyed with water, but God has promised that He would not more destroy the world with flood (Genesis 9:11). The end of the world described in 2 Peter 3:10 as the day of the Lord will occur after the final judgment by God (Revelation 20:7-10). This scripture reveals that the universe will be destroyed by fire. Therefore, believers should bear in mind that this present world will not last forever (Matthew 5:18;24:35).

Lesson 52: RCCG Sunday School Manual 29 August 2021 – Fourth Quarterly Review

LESSON OUTLINES
LESSON OUTLINE 1: THE PASSING AWAY OF THE HEAVENS AND THE EARTH
A. THE BIBLICAL TRUTH ABOUT THE PRESENT EARTH AND HEAVEN:
i. The present physical earth and heaven will pass away. (Isaiah 34:4;51:6)
ii. All elements and works shall be burnt up. (2 Peter 3:10c)
iii. The passing away which means “disappear” or “no more” will not involve the inhabitants of heaven and earth. (Rev. 21:3)
iv. The “heavens” refers to the stars, planet and galaxies (2 Pet. 3:10).

B. THE NATURE OF THE DAY AND HE PASSAGE (PASSING AWAY)
i. Suddenly: like a thief in the night. (2 Peter 3:10a)
ii. With a great noise (possible of great explosion). (2 Peter 3:10b)
iii. With fervent heat (capable of meeting all elements) (2 Peter 3:10c)
iv. With burning fire. 2 Peter 3:12

C. BELIEVERS’ EXPECTATION
Believers should be on guard and watch out because the day of the event is fast approaching (Looking for and hasting). 2 Peter 3:12

CLASS ACTIVITY 1: How should Believers prepare for the day when the world and elements would melt in fire.

LESSON OUTLINE: EMERGENCE OF THE NEW HEAVEN AND THE NEW EARTH
A. NATURE OF NEW HEAVEN AND THE NEW EARTH
i. God will create a new heaven and earth to replace the old heaven and earth. (Revelation 21:1)
ii. God will also creates new Jerusalem out of the new heaven to the new earth. (Revelation 21:2)
iii. The new Jerusalem which is referred to as the “tabernacle of God” is the holy city where the saint shall dwell. (Rev. 21:2-3)
iv. The new heavens and the earth is a place of righteousness and the dwelling place of the righteous. (2 Peter 3:13)

B. IMPLICATIONS OF THE NEW HEAVEN AND NEW EARTH FOR THE BELIEVERS.
i. Believers’ are to look forward to the emergence of the new heavens and earth. (2 Peter 3:12-13).
ii. Believers should not contaminate themselves with unrighteousness, because only the righteousness will dwell there. (2 Peter 3:13)
iii. Believers should make heaven their number one priority. (Matt. 6:20)
iv. Believers should avoid such things that should stain their holiness. (2 Peter 3:14).
v. Believers should live in peace (with brethren) and be blameless. (2 Peter 3:14).

CLASS ACTIVITY 2: Class member should identify common spot or stains which could tarnish the believers’ life of Holiness.

SUMMARY: The end of the heaven and the earth is sure and imminent.

CONCLUSION: Believers should remain faithful to the end because there is hope of eternal life with God beyond this present world.

Scripture Union Daily Guide 29 August 2021 – Sooner Than We Think

Previous articleStreams In The Desert 29 August 2021 Devotional – The Lightest Cross
Next articleFaith To Faith Devotional 29th August 2021 – You Hold The Key